ODU Athletics

Roberts, Achterhof and Morich Named to All-Conference Teams

October 30, 2018
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. – Emily Roberts and Iris Achterhof of the Old Dominion women’s soccer team were named to the 2018 All-Conference USA Second Team, while Carla Morich garnered Third Team honors. 

Roberts (Severn, Md.) has anchored ODU’s backline to an impressive season, as ODU has allowed one goal or less in 13 out of 18 possible matches and has pitched nine shutouts, six of which have come in the last seven matches. Roberts and ODU’s defense allowed just 16 goals in the regular season, which marks a new school record. ODU is allowing 0.89 goals per game on average, which ranks second in the league. The nine shutouts are also the second most in the C-USA. Roberts’ goal against Richmond helped lead ODU to victory. She also scored a goal in Old Dominion’s road match at UTEP.

Achterhof (Groningen, Netherlands) is second on team for points with 13. Her seven assists are also second on the team and rank fifth in the C-USA. Those seven assist also rank as the sixth most in school history for a single season. Her two assists against WKU are tied for the most in a single game among C-USA players this season. She scored a goal against LA Tech, Mt. St. Mary’s and UTSA. Achterhof had an assist against Richmond, Towson, Mt. St. Mary’s, UTEP and North Texas. ODU is 5-0-1 when Achterhof has at least one assist in a match. Achterhof was named to the Third Team in 2016 and 2017 and was named the C-USA Freshman of the Year and garnered Second Team accolades in 2015.

Morich (Hamburg, Germany) has been instrumental on offense and defense this season for Old Dominion. Her four assists are the third most on the squad. She dished out an assist against George Mason, VCU, LA Tech and Western Kentucky. She has also helped ODU’s defense to allowing just 16 goals for the regular season, which is a new program record. Morich and the Monarchs have allowed one goal or less in 13 of 18 matches and have shutout their opponents a total of nine times, six of which came in the last seven matches. Morich was named to the All-Freshman Team a season ago.

No. 5 seed Old Dominion is currently riding a seven-match unbeaten streak and will host No. 4 seed LA Tech on Wednesday, Oct. 31 at 7:00 p.m. EST in the Quarterfinals of the 2018 Conference USA Tournament at the ODU Soccer Complex. All C-USA Tournament matches will stream live on ESPN+.

2018 Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams and Awards

First Team
Kelsey Daugherty, UAB, GK
Ebba Blomqvist, Florida Atlantic, D
Dominique James, North Texas, D
Ola Akinniyi, Southern Miss, D
Lianne Mananquil, Rice, MF
Mary O’Hara, Florida Atlantic, MF
Hannah Tillett, Middle Tennessee, MF
Nomvula Kgoale, Louisiana Tech, MF
Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee, F
Megan Greene, Charlotte, F
Ambere Barnett, WKU, F

Second Team
Jennifer Ocampo, Florida Atlantic, GK
Sydney Navarro, Middle Tennessee, D
Riley Orr, Charlotte, D
Emily Roberts, Old Dominion, D
Miah Zuazua, Southern Miss, MF
Nicole Roseland, WKU, MF
Sarah Gorham, WKU, MF
Iris Achterhof, Old Dominion, F
Aaliyah Nolan, North Texas, F
Annie Walker, Rice, F
Marah Abu-Tayeh, Marshall, F
Kamilah Mustafa, UAB, F

Third Team
Kelsey Brann, North Texas, GK
Carissa Sanders, North Texas, D
Ashley Seltzer, Marshall, D
Elizabeth Doll, Louisiana Tech, D
Alex Maxson, Florida Atlantic, D
Erin Mikeska, Rice, MF
Amber Hoot, Middle Tennessee, MF
Carla Morich, Old Dominion, MF
Taylor Torres, North Texas, F
Ellis Patterson, UTSA, F
Elisha Holmes, Florida Atlantic, F
Julia Grainda, Charlotte, F
Berklee Peters, North Texas, F

All-Freshman Team
Ambere Barnett, WKU
Hannah Tillett, Middle Tennessee
Hailey Landrus, Florida Atlantic
Kelsey Brann, North Texas
Delaney Schultz, Rice
Olivia Durham, Southern Miss
Alexandra Augustyn, Louisiana Tech
Jojo Ngongo, UTEP
Sandra Geiselhart, Charlotte
Lexi Bolton, UTSA
Kaydeen Jack, FIU

Offensive Player of the Year
Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee

Defensive Player of the Year
Dominique James, North Texas

Midfielder of the Year
Lianne Mananquil, Rice

Goalkeeper of the Year
Kelsey Daugherty, UAB

Freshman of the Year
Hannah Tillett, Middle Tennessee

Coach of the Year
Patrick Baker, Florida Atlantic

MORE IN Women's Soccer


Women's Soccer: In Hindsight 10/30/18
ODU Women's Soccer vs UNT Recap
In Hindsight: 10/24/18