Ryan Yarbrough (left), Matt Quatraro (center), Marty Miller (right).
Ryan Yarbrough (left), Matt Quatraro (center), Marty Miller (right).
ODU Athletics

Former ODU Stars, Miller Headline 2019 Baseball Banquet

December 14, 2018
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. -- The 42nd Annual Old Dominion Baseball Banquet will be held Friday, Jan. 11, 2019, at the Sheraton Waterside Norfolk Hotel.

The banquet is headlined by keynote speakers and former Old Dominion baseball stars Matt Quatraro and Ryan Yarbrough, as well as the Bud Metheny Award recipient, Marty Miller.

The cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and presentations at 7 p.m. Tickets are $65 and $45 for groups of 20 or more. Purchase tickets here.

Quatraro ('96), a former All-American at ODU, is the bench coach for the Tampa Bay Rays. The New York native was the 1996 ODU Alumni Association’s Male Athlete of the Year. One of just two players in program history to have a career average of .400 or better, Quatraro helped lead ODU to three straight CAA Championships from 1994 to 1996. He was a Second Team All-American in 1996 after hitting .416 with 13 home runs and 55 RBIs. 

Yarbrough ('14) is coming off of a breakout rookie season on the mound for the Tampa Bay Rays. Yarbrough went 16-6 with a 3.91 ERA last season, finishing fifth in the AL Rookie of the Year voting. At ODU, Yarbrough won 10 games in his career to go along with a 3.89 ERA and was a member of the 2014 NCAA Regional team. He was drafted in the fourth round of the 2014 MLB Draft by the Mariners.

Miller, the athletic director at Norfolk State, becomes the 42nd recipient of the prestigious Bud Metheny Award, an annual award given to an individual who has made significant contributions to the game of baseball in Hampton Roads. A native of Danville, Virginia, Miller was an All-American baseball player at Norfolk State in the late 60s. He became the first Spartan to be named an NCAA College Division All-American and played until 1968 before joining the U.S. Army. Miller returned to NSU first as an assistant in 1972, before taking over as head coach of the baseball program until 2005, when he was named athletic director. In his 32 years as head coach, he went 718-543-3, including 17 conference championships. Miller was named the CIAA Coach of the Year 15 times, and is the winningest baseball coach in CIAA history.

Click here for a complete list of winners of the Bud Metheny Award. 

Follow @ODUBaseball on Twitter for the latest updates on the Monarchs. 

MORE IN Baseball


Baseball: UTSA C-USA TOURNEY Highlights
Baseball: WKU C-USA TOURNEY Highlights
ODU Baseball: Highlights vs Marshall Game 3