#4 Tim Young took out #1 Koelling of Missouri
#4 Tim Young took out #1 Koelling of Missouri
ODU Athletics

Monarchs Advance Four to MAC Finals; ODU in Third

March 08, 2019
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. – Michael McGee (125), Kevin Budock (149), Larry Early (157) and Tim Young (197) of ODU wrestling have advanced to the 2019 MAC Wrestling Championships. McGee and Early have secured spots to the NCAA Championships with their semifinal wins. With a victory in the finals, Budock and Young will punch tickets to the NCAA Championships in Pittsburgh.

Making his second straight MAC Final appearance, McGee will face Drew Hildebrandt of CMU in the 125-pound final. Last year, McGee won his final in overtime and was named MAC Freshman of the Year. He opened his evening with a 18-0 win over SIUE's Gage Datlovsky. After not facing Dack Punke in the regular season, McGee took down the Missouri athlete 7-1 in the semifinals.

At 133 pounds, Trevon Majette will be wrestling for seventh after a loss in the quarterfinal and his wrestleback. 

Sa'Derian Perry started the afternoon with a 6-1 win over Andrew Marten of CMU. In the semifinals, Perry was downed by top-seeded Jaydin Eierman. Eierman is a two-time All-American for Missouri

At 157 pounds, Early will be facing Jarrett Jacques of Missouri in the finals on Saturday. En route to the final, Early defeated his quarterfinal opponent by technical fall and in the semifinals he avenged a regular season loss to CMU's Logan Parks by a 3-1 decision.

After dropping a quarterfinal loss to Buffalo's Troy Keller, Shane Jones bounced back with a 2-1 win over Kenny Moore in the wrestlebacks. He will look to wrestle for third place tomorrow. 

Luke Drugac opened his MAC campaign with a 6-5 win over third seeded Jake Lanning of Buffalo. Following that upset win, Drugac dropped his semifinal bout by a major decision to fall into the wrestlebacks. 

At 184 pounds, Antonio Agee won his quarterfinal in overtime. He then dropped his semifinal bout to Andrew McNally to fall into the wrestleback side of the bracket. Agee will start Saturday with a bout against Will Feldkamp of NIU. 

Highlighting the evening, fourth seeded Tim Young took out top seeded Wyatt Koelling of Missouri in the semifinals to head to the 197-pound final. He started his run with a 13-7 win by decision over Landon Pelhman in the quarterfinals. Young will face Brett Perry in the 197-pound final on Saturday afternoon.

At heavyweight, Will Hilliard dropped two straight matches. Hilliard will be wrestling back for seventh place tomorrow. 


125 #1 Michael McGee
QF – Michael McGee (ODU) TF over Gage Datlovsky (SIUE), 18-0
SF – Michael McGee (ODU) dec. over Dack Punke (MIzzou), 7-1 

133 - #7 Trevon Majette
QF – Derek Spann (UB) MD over Trevon Majette (ODU)
WB1 – Deven Perez (CMU) dec. over Trevon Majette (ODU), TB-1 7-4 

141 - #4 Sa’Derian Perry
QF – Sa’Derian Perry (ODU) dec. over Andrew Marten (CMU), 6-1
SF – Jaydin Eierman (Mizzou) fall over Sa’Derian Perry (ODU), 3:00 

149 - #2 Kevin Budock
QF – Kevin Budock (ODU) dec. over Dresden Simon (CMU), TB-1 6-3
SF – Kevin Budock (ODU) dec. over Alec Hagan (Ohio), TB-2 4-3 

157 - #1 Larry Early
QF – Larry Early (ODU) TF over Richard Jackson (Kent State), 18-2
SF – Larry Early (ODU) dec. over Logan Parks (CMU), 3-1 

165 - #7 Shane Jones
QF – Troy Keller (UB) dec. over Shane Jones (ODU), 9-2
WB1 – Shane Jones (ODU) dec. over Kenny Moore (NIU), 2-1 

174 - #6 Luke Drugac
QF – Luke Drugac (ODU) dec. over Jake Lanning (UB), 6-5
SF – Brit Wilson (NIU) MD over Luke Drugac (ODU), 12-4 

184 - #2 Antonio Agee
QF – Antonio Agee (ODU) dec. over Hunter Yeargan (Ohio), TB-1 2-1
SF – Andrew McNally (Kent State) dec. over Antonio Agee (ODU), 5-3 

197 - #4 Tim Young
QF – Tim Young (ODU) dec. over Landon Pelham (CMU), 13-7
SF – Tim Young (ODU) dec. over Wyatt Koelling (Mizzou), TB-1 3-1 

285 - #4 Will Hilliard
QF – Caleb Gossett (NIU) MD over Will Hilliard (ODU), 13-2
WB1 – Zack Parker (Ohio) dec. over Will Hilliard (ODU), 7-0 

Team Scores
1. Missouri 127.5
2. Buffalo 94.5
3. ODU 92.5
4. CMU 82.5
5. Ohio 76.0
6. NIU 71.0
7. SIUE 59.5
8. Kent State 56.5

Saturday Schedule
11:00 am ET    Doors Open to Public
11:57 am ET    National Anthem
12:00 pm ET    Consolation Semifinals (20 Matches, 3 Mats)
1:05 pm ET      Seventh Place Matches (10 Matches, 3 Mats)
1:45 pm ET      Championship Finals Parade & Face Off Introductions
2:00 pm ET      Championship Finals; Third Place Matches; Fifth Place Matches (3 Mats)

Updated brackets are attached at the top of the release. 

Adam Jaksa and Tim Wentz will be on the call again for the final day of the MAC Wrestling Championships. Tune into ESPN+ at 12 p.m. for all day coverage. Click here for the link. 

Ticket Information
Tickets can be bought at the door or at ynottix.com. Various session tickets are available. $30 All Session, $130 All Session VIP Package, $25 One Session. VIP includes food, beer, wine and a cash bar for both days. 


MORE IN Wrestling


Inside Monarch Nation: Larry Early
MAC Tournament Day 2 | ODU Wrestling Highlights
MAC Tournament Day 1 | ODU Wrestling