ODUSports.com - The Official Site of Old Dominion Athletics

Eriq Lewis Named to CFPA Defensive Back Watch List

June 11, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

June 11, 2012

NORFOLK, Va. -- Redshirt sophomore Eriq Lewis (Washington, D.C.) was named to the Defensive Back Watch List by the College Football Performance Awards.

The purpose of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams.

Lewis was a Second Team All-CAA honoree and member of the inaugural Jerry Rice Watch List for the FCS' most outstanding freshman in his first season with the Monarchs. Lewis led ODU with five interceptions and became the first Monarch with more than one interception in a game. Ranked among the top-10 in interceptions among FCS defenders, he was the top freshman in the CAA in the category and also ranked third in league in fumbles forced. He also posted 41 tackles, a team-leading nine pass break-ups and 14 passes defended along with three forced fumbles.

As the 2012 season approaches, College Football Performance Awards will be releasing a preseason watch list each week from now until pre-season. For more information on the College Football Performance Awards, click here.

2012 CFPA Defensive Back Watch List
• Saeed Lee, Alabama State
• Kejuan Riley, Alabama State
• Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State
• Ryan Shaw, Arkansas Pine-Bluff
• A.J. Cruz, Brown
• Steth Monroe, Campbell
• Jestin Love, Central Arkansas
• Charles James, Charleston Southern
• D.J. Key, Chattanooga
• Mike Armiento, Colgate
• Travis Hawkins, Delaware
• Serge Kona, Duquesne
• Devontae Johnson, Florida A&M
• Jeremy Moore, Georgetown
• Donovan Henley, Idaho State
• Pierre Warren, Jacksonville State
• Darius Safford, Lafayette
• Bryan Andrews, Lehigh
• Walt Aikens, Liberty
• Kevin Fogg, Liberty
• Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State
• Pat Gray, Monmouth
• Kenneth Ridley, Morgan State
• Chris Houston, New Hampshire
• Colten Heagle, North Dakota State
• Marcus Williams, North Dakota State
• Garrett Scott, Nothern Iowa
• Jamaal White, Northwestern State
Eriq Lewis, Old Dominion
• Alvin Hines II, Samford
• Dax Swanson, Sam Houston State
• Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State
• Darius Drummond, South Carolina State
• Winston Wright, South Dakota State
• Tylor Brock, Southeast Missouri
• Robert Alford, Southeastern Louisiana
• Davonte Anderson, Stony Brook
• Torian Phillips, Wagner
• Kieron James, Western Illinois
• B.W. Webb, William & Mary