ODU Monarchs
CB Wilkins

Early Places Eighth at Midlands; Four Monarchs Crowned Champions at Lock Haven Classic

December 30, 2017
By ODU Athletics

HOFFMAN ESTATES, Ill. – Old Dominion’s Larry Early earned an eighth place finish in the 157 pound weight class at the 55th Ken Kraft Midlands Championship on Saturday afternoon, hosted by Northwestern. The redshirt sophomore fell in the seventh place match to Andrew Crone of Wisconsin. Early won five matches at the prestigious tournament.

At the Lock Haven Classic, Steven Simpson, Kenan Carter, George Walton (unat), and Will Hilliard (unat) won in their respective weight class. Eight other Monarchs placed at Lock Haven, including Mason Wohltman (4th), Jake DiBenedetto (Unat-3rd), Luke Drugac (2nd), Ben Schram (3rd), Jaquan Loney (3rd), Shane Jones (4th), Antonio Agee (2nd), Noah Bushman (2nd), and Ali Wahab (2nd).

“Both tournaments were great opportunities for our guys to get mat time in. The guys at Lock Haven and Midlands gained invaluable experience. Multiple matches in a day will help them prepare for the MAC Tournament and NCAA Tournament,” explained head coach Steve Martin.

The team took a second place finish at Lock Haven.

“We have a lot to take away from both events from a preparation standpoint. Now, we enter the second phase of the season, which is dual meets. We are looking forward to competing at home next week to EMU.”

For results and brackets from Midlands (Through Session III) and the Lock Haven Classic, view the attached PDF's at the top. 

Old Dominion Placed Results at Midlands

Larry Early – 8th Place

Larry Early TF over Spencer Nagy (Edinboro), 19-2
Larry Early MD over Shayne Oster (Northwestern), 16-7
Mike D’Angelo (Princeton) dec. over Larry Early, 9-4
Larry Early MD over Leonard Merkin (Princeton), 15-3
Larry Early dec. over Luke Weber (Nebraska), 10-5
Larry Early won by medical ff over Joseph Velliquette (Penn)
John Van Brill (Rutgers) pin Larry Early, (3:51)
Andrew Crone (Wisconsin) dec. over Larry Early, 7-1

Old Dominion Results at Lock Haven Classic

133- Steven Simpson- First Place
Steven Simpson MD over Frank Satriale (Bucknell), 15-6
Steven Simpson TF Hunter Starner (VMI), 15-0

141- Mason Wolhtman-Fourth
Blake Retell (Buffalo) dec. over Mason Wohltman, 9-3
Mason Wohltman pin Kevin Keaveney (VMI), (3:52)
Mason Wohltman dec. over Brandon Ramos (ODU), 4-0
Mason Wohltman dec. over Blake Retell (Buffalo), 3-2
Ben Bliss (Bucknell) dec. over Mason Wohltman, 7-4

133- Jaquan Loney- Third
Hunter Harris (Messiah) pin Jaquan Loney, (3:27)
Jaquan Loney dec. over David Campbell (Bucknell), 2-1
Jaquan Loney MD over Frank Satriale (Bucknell) , 11-2
Jaquan Loney dec. over Hunter Harris (Messiah), 5-2

149- Kenan Carter- First Place
Kenan Carter pin Bayne Gordon (George Mason) , (6:54)
Kenan Carter MD over William Lawrence (VMI), 12-0
Kenan Carter MD over Stephen Maloney (Messiah), 11-0
Kenan Carter dec. over Collin Glorioso (Lock Haven), 2-1

149- J. DiBenedetto (unat)- Third
Jake DiBenedetto won by medical forfeit over James Devine (Buffalo)
Jake DiBenedetto dec. over Lio Quezada (George Mason), 10-4
Collin Glorioso (Lock Haven) dec. over Jake DiBenedetto, 6-0
Jake DiBenedetto dec. over William Lawrence (VMI), 6-2
Jake DiBenedetto dec. over Lio Quezada (George Mason), 7-0

165- Luke Drugac- Second
Luke Drugac MD over Cade Hepner (ODU), 14-3
Luke Drugac dec. over Shane Jones (ODU), 3-1
DJ Hollingshead (Bucknell) MD over Luke Drugac, 13-3 

165- Ben Schram- Third
Ben Schram dec. over Shane Jones (ODU), 4-2
Ben Schram pin Jacob Boisseau (George Mason)
DJ Hollingshead (Bucknell) dec. over Ben Schram, 8-1
Ben Schram dec. over Jeff Hojnaki (Messiah) , 6-2 

165- Shane Jones – Fourth
Shane Jones dec. over Jeff Hojnaki (Messiah), 4-1
Luke Drugac (ODU) dec. over Shane Jones, 3-1
Shane Jones dec. over Blake Hohman (VMI), 5-3
Ben Schram (ODU) dec. over Shane Jones, 4-2 

184- George Walton (unat)- First Place
George Walton pin Jack Miller (Virginia), (3:17)
George Walton pin Trey Hartsock (Lock Haven), (1:18)
George Walton dec. over Antonio Agee (ODU), TB 2-1 

184- Antonio Agee- Second
Antonio Agee MD over Kyle Davis (Buffalo), 14-3
Antonio Agee TF over Zack Schef (Grizzly WC), 16-1
Antonio Agee dec. over Drew Phipps (Bucknell), 5-3
George Walton (ODU) dec. over Antonio Agee, TB 2-1

197- Noah Bushman- Second
Noah Bushman pin Ray Bernot (Lock Haven), (3:53)
Noah Bushman dec. over Kyle Koser (Messiah), 8-4
Garrett Hoffman (Bucknell) dec. over Noah Bushman, 7-2 

285- Will Hilliard (unat)- First Place
Will Hilliard pin Jake Tomlinson (VMI), (2:21)
Will Hilliard dec. over Brandon Stokes (Bucknell), 4-2
Will Hilliard dec. over Ali Wahab (ODU), 4-2

285- Ali Wahab- Second
Ali Wahab TF over Jake Koch (VMI), 15-0
Will Hilliard (ODU) dec. over Ali Wahab, 4-2 

Up Next
The Monarchs host Eastern Michigan in a MAC dual at the Ted Constant Center on Sunday, January 7 at 1 p.m.