Four Monarchs Named to CAA All-Rookie Wrestling Squad

March 28, 2007
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

March 28, 2007

LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ -- Four Old Dominion wrestling Monarchs were named to the Colonial Athletic Association's All-Rookie Team for 2006-07. ODU boasts the highest number of freshmen on the team with Binghamton and Rider both with two members each. The Monarchs recognized were Kyle Hutter (125), Kaylen Baxter (149), Chris Brown (157), and Matt Pellar (285).

Also released were the CAA's yearly awards. Hofstra University swept the awards with coach Tom Shifflet taking Coach of the Year, junior Charles Griffin named Wrestler of the Year, and Lou Ruggirello was named Rookie of the Year.

The Monarchs started six freshman this season and nearly every dual started with freshman Kyle Hutter at 125 lbs. Hutter finished third at the CAA Championships. Including unattached results this season, Hutter finished with a 31-17 record with seven major decisions and four falls. The rookie proved he could grind out matches by finishing the season with 19 decisions.

At the 149-lb. slot, head coach Steve Martin called on Alaska native Kaylen Baxter. Baxter knocked out more nationally ranked opponents than any other Monarch this season by toppling five, including the top seed at the CAA Championships Mike Parziale (Hofstra). He was one of five Monarchs finishing the season with 30 wins and he had a tournament win at the Virginia Intercollegiates.

The freshman class was led by redshirt Chris Brown. Brown finished fourth at the CAA Championships as he ended the season with a team-high 35 wins, including 14 dual victories. He also led the team in major decisions with 13. He placed in five tournaments this season, including a second place finish in the 157-lb. weight class at the Michigan State Open.

Finally, rounding out the ODU selections on the All-Rookie Team is Matt Pellar at 285-lbs. The heavyweight jumped into the starting lineup in the second half of the season and finished the year to the tune of a 19-12 record and six pins. He won the weight class at the Virginia Intercollegiates as well as at the Mat Town USA Tournament.

Old Dominion returns nine of its ten starters next season. In 2006-07, the Monarchs went 12-7 in dual competition and qualified three wrestlers for the NCAA Tournament.

2006-07 CAA Wrestling Awards
Coach of the Year: Tom Shifflett (Hofstra)
Wrestler of the Year: Charles Griffin (Hofstra)
Rookie of the Year: Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra)

All-Rookie Team:
125: Kyle Hutter (ODU)
133: Lou Ruggirello (Hofstra)
141: Cory Dunn (Sacred Heart)
149: Kaylen Baxter (ODU)
157: Chris Brown (ODU)
165: Robbie Morrison (Rider)
174: Josh Patterson (Binghamton)
184: Mike Miller (Rider)
197: Ed Backus (Binghamton)
285: Matt Pellar (ODU)