Anna Tunnicliffe Will Try For Third Straight Women's Singlehanded Title This Weekend

October 21, 2004
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Oct. 21, 2004

NORFOLK, VA   --Senior Anna Tunnicliffe (Perrysburg, OH) will attempt to win her third straight ICSA Women's Singlehanded North Americans championship this weekend, when she travels to Wayzata, MN--a suburb of Minneapolis--Oct. 22-24 to vie for the Janet Lutz Trophy.  Last November in St. Petersburg, Tunnicliffe made history by becoming the first sailor ever to win back-to-back Singlehanded Championships.  The win gave ODU sailing its 14th national championship.


This year's field proves to be as strong as ever, with seven sailors returning from last year's competition.  Genny Tulloch, last year's runner-up, as well as Sloan Devlin, who finished 3rd last year, both from Harvard, will battle with Tunnicliffe for the title once again.  Other returning sailors include Jenny Gervais from St. Mary's College, Christina Falcone from Michigan, Anne Davidson from Brown and Hayley Siegenthaler from the University of Washington. 


Newcomers include Cordo Carraher from Georgetown, Anne Porter from Wisconsin, Molly Carapiet from Yale, Amanda Clark from Connecticut College, Tinja Andeson and Shandy Buckley from Hawaii, Alana O'Reilly and Anne Bowen from the College of Charleston and Jenipher Cate from Texas A&M Galveston.


Anna Tunnicliffe qualified for the Championship by dominating the MAISA Women's Singlehanded Championship, held October 2-3 in Annapolis, MD.  Tunnicliffe scored 27 points, while her nearest competitor, Jenny Gervais, scored 88.


The Championship is also a qualifer for the US Sailing O'Day Regatta, held in August 2005 at Alamitos Bay YC in Long Beach, CA.



ICSA Women's Singlehanded North Americans Participants:

District:                                                           2003 ICSA Women's Singlehanded Finish



Anna Tunnicliffe, Old Dominion                                     1st

Jenny Gervais, St. Mary's                                                    10th

Cordo Carraher, Georgetown                                                --



Anne Porter, Wisconsin                                                         --

Christina Falcone, Michigan                                                  11th



Sloan Devlin, Harvard                                                           3rd

Genny Tulloch, Harvard                                                        2nd

Anne Davidson, Brown                                                         7th

Molly Carapiet, Yale                                                              --

Amanda Clark, Connecticut College                                        --



Hayley Siegenthaler, Univ. of Washington                              16th



Tinja Anderson, Hawaii                                                          --

Shandy Buckley, Hawaii                                                         --



Alana O'Reilly, Charleston                                                     --

Anne Bowen, Charleston                                                       --



Jenipher Cate, Texas A&M Galveston                                   --


MAISA:  Mid-Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association

MCSA:  Midwest Collegiate Sailing Association

NEISA:   New England Intercollegiate Sailing Association

NWICSA:  North West Intercollegiate Sailing Association

PCIYRA:  Pacific Coast Intercollegiate Yacht Racing Association

SAISA:  South Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association

SIESA:  Southeastern Intercollegiate Sailing Association