Anna Tunnicliffe Is A Finalist For Sportswoman Of The Year

August 25, 2010
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Aug. 25, 2010

NORFOLK, VA-- Olympic Gold Medalist and three-time collegiate sailing All-American Anna Tunnicliffe-Funk (ODU '05) is one of 10 finalists from around the world for the Women's Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year. Voting is open online here.

The other nine finalists are Torah Bright (Skate Boarding), Rebecca Bross (Gymnastics), Yu-Na Kim (Skater), Kelly Kulick (Bowling), Ai Miyazato (Golf), Alana Nichols (Paralympic Skiing, Sanya Richards (Track and Field), Lindsey Vonn (Alpine Skiing) and Serena Williams (Tennis).

The winners will be announced Oct. 12 and honored at the Annual Salute to Women in Sports Awards Dinner at the Waldorf- Astoria in New York City.

Representing the USA, Anna Tunnicliffe won the Gold Medal in the Women's Laser Radial dinghy at the 2008 Olympic Games in Qingdao, China. Anna was the ISAF world's Number One-ranked women's Radial sailor from April 9, 2008 to May 2010. She was voted 2009 ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year in November 2009. Now Anna, skipper of Team Tunnicliffe, has teamed up with Molly O'Bryan Vandemoer and Debbie Capozzi to take on the world and go for Gold in 2012 London Olympic Games in Women's Match Racing.

The three-time Collegiate All-American and three-time Collegiate national champion is also a two-time recipient of the US Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year award.