Heinicke Named to CFPA Quarterback Award Watch List

May 06, 2013
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 6, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Old Dominion University quarterback Taylor Heinicke was named to the preseason College Football Performance Award FCS Quarterback Watch List, the CFPA announced on Monday.

"Congratulations to CFPA recipient Taylor Heinicke on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," stated CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Throughout Old Dominion's transition to FBS football, Heinicke will remain eligible for CFPA recognition proportionate to his on-field performance."

A native of Atlanta, Ga., Heinicke won the Walter Payton Award in 2012 for the Best Player in the FCS and won the Dudley Award given to the top Division I Player in Virginia. The junior to be earned seven All-America distinctions, along with being named the Norfolk and Porstmouth Sports Club Player of the Year, Hampton Roads Sports Commission Offensive Player of the Year, and the Touchdown Club of Columbus FCS Player of the Year.

Heinicke broke Steve McNair's 18-year old passing yardage record with 5,076 yards and set an FCS record with 398 completions. He led the nation in passing yardage, passing yards per game, completions, passing touchdowns, and total touchdowns. He set a Division I record for passing yardage in a game with 730 and in total offense with 791 yards in ODU's come-from-behind win over New Hampshire, 64-61.

He finished the year 398-of-579 passing, adding 44 touchdown passes and 11 rushing touchdowns. He also added 470 yards rushing on the ground.

There are 32 quarterbacks in total on the watch list, including Denarius McGhee of Montana State, John Robertson of Villanova and Brock Jensen of North Dakota State

Heinicke and the Monarchs open the 2013 season at East Carolina on Aug. 31.

2013 CFPA FCS Quarterback Award Watch List
Taylor Heinicke - Old Dominion
DeNarius McGhee - Montana State
John Robertson - Villanova
Sawyer Kollmorgen - Northern Iowa
Will Fiacchi - Albany
Jamal Londry-Jackson - Appalachian State
Brodrick Waters - Bethune-Cookman
Mike Westerhaus - Bryant
Matt Lancaster - Butler
Wynrick Smothers - Central Arkansas
Jacob Huesman - Chattanooga
Ben Dupree - The Citadel
Gavin McCarney - Colgate
Jeff Matthews - Cornell
Jonathan Carkhuff - Davidson
Jimmy Garoppolo - Eastern Illinois
Vernon Adams - Eastern Washington
Damien Fleming - Florida A&M
Jerick McKinnon - Georgia Southern
Josh Woodrum - Liberty
Marcus Wasilewski - Maine
Chuckie Looney - Marist
Cody Stroud - McNeese State
Andy Vailas - New Hampshire
Brock Jensen - North Dakota State
Garrett Safron - Sacramento State
Brian Bell - Sam Houston State
Andy Summerlin - Samford
Mason Mills - San Diego
Dray Joseph - Southern University
Brady Attaway - Stephen F. Austin
Kurt Hess - Youngstown State