Tyree Lee Named to CFPA FCS Running Back Award Watch List

May 13, 2013
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 13, 2013

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Old Dominion University running back Tyree Lee was named to the 2013 College Football Performance FCS Running Back Award Watch List, the organization announced on Monday.

"Congratulations to Tyree Lee on joining CFPA recipient Taylor Heinicke on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," stated CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "In 2012, Lee flourished in Head Coach Bobby Wilder's dynamic offense."

Lee led the Monarchs in rushing with 864 yards on 159 carries and was second on the squad with eight touchdowns. He also caught 35 passes for 343 yards and a touchdown.

A native of Hampton, Va., Lee recorded four 100-yard rushing games in 2012, including three-straight starting with a 128-yard effort in the nationally televised victory over Delaware. He followed that with 126 yards and two scores at Georgia State and added a career-best 166 yards and a touchdown against William and Mary. Lee began the year with 113 yards in the season-opener against Duquesne.

Lee is the second monarch to be named to a CFPA Award Watch List, joining 2012 Walter Patyon Award Winner, Taylor Heinicke, who is on the CFPA Quarterback Watch List.

The Monarchs open the 2013 season on Aug. 31 at East Carolina.

2013 CFPA FCS Running Back Award Watch List
Shakir Bell - Indiana State
Terrance West - Towson
Tyler Varga - Yale
Fabian Truss - Samford
Isaiah Crowell - Alabama State
Isidore Jackson - Bethune-Cookman
Trae Heeter - Butler
Kristaan Ivory - Cal Poly
Rob Hollomon - Central Conn. State
Darien Robinson - The Citadel
Dominick Pierre - Dartmouth
Carlton Koonce - Fordham
Dominique Swope - Georgia Southern
DeMarcus James - Jacksonville State
Dae'Quan Scott - James Madison
Aldreakis Allen - Liberty
Marcus Wiltz - McNeese State
Julian Hayes - Monmouth
Cody Kirk - Montana State
Jaamal Berry - Murray State
Zach Bauman - Northern Arizona
Nico Steriti - New Hampshire
Sam Ojuri - North Dakota State
Tyree Lee - Old Dominion
David Johnson - Northern Iowa
DJ Adams - Portland State
Tim Flanders - Sam Houston State
Zach Zenner - South Dakota State
Kyle Harbridge - St. Francis (Pa.)
Gus Johnson - Stephen F. Austin
Marcus Coker - Stony Brook
Kevin Monangai - Villanova
Dominique Williams - Wagner