Five Monarchs Selected To All State Squad

February 13, 2013
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Feb. 13, 2013

NORFOLK, VA-- Five Monarch Soccer Players were named All-State as selected by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID). Chris Harmon, Tim Hopkinson and Victor Francoz were named to the first team, while Alex De John and Jordan LeBlanc were second team selections. ODU led the way with the most All-State selections.

Harmon, who was selected to the first team All-Region squad after scoring nine goals, with a team best six assists for 24 total points. Harmon had four game-winning goals. The All-CAA midfielder finished his career with 21 career goals and 14 career assists for 56 career points which ranks him 10th all-time at ODU.

Tim Hopkinson led the Monarchs with 10 goals, five assists and 25 total points on the season to earn a second team All-Region selection.

Victor Francoz, who was selected to the third team All-Region squad after posting seven full shutouts,62 saves and a 0.85 goals against average for the All-CAA goalkeeper. He finished his career at ODU 13 full shutouts, 148 saves and a 1.83 goals against average.

Jordan LeBlanc, a midfielder from Haverford, PA. earned third team NSCAA All-Region honors and second team All-CAA honors. During the season he was named National Team of the Week on Aug. 27th after scoring two goals with one assist against Navy. LeBlanc completed his career with 14 goals, five assists and 33 career points. He was the 27th overall (second round) pick by the Montreal Impact in the MLS Supplemental draft.

De John, a defender from Marlboro, NJ., earned second team All-CAA honors. He scored a goal in ODU's Fox Soccer nationally televised win over George Mason. De John was selected in the third round (42nd overall pick) by New England Revolution.

Following ODU's five selections and VCU's four, George Mason, Liberty and Virginia had thee apiece. JMU and Radford each had two representatives.

The Virginia Sports Information Directors name 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an academic all-state squad and an all-sports champion in both the university and college divisions. Membership in VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a university or conference in the state of Virginia.

First Team
D - Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, Fr., JMU
D - Uruah Bentick, Sr., Liberty
D - Greg White, Sr., Liberty
D - Scott Thomsen, Fr., Virginia
M - Chris Harmon, Sr., ODU
M - Bernardo Ulmo, Jr., Radford
M - Paul Wyatt, Sr., JMU
F - Will Bates, Sr., Virginia
F - Tim Hopkinson, Jr., ODU
F - Jason Johnson, Jr., VCU
G - Victor Francoz, Sr., ODU

Second Team D - Zach Carroll, Fr., Virginia D - Dennis Castillo, Fr., VCU D - Alex De John, Sr., ODU M - Alex Herrera, Jr., GMU M - Jordan LeBlanc, Sr., ODU M - Mario Herrera Meraz, So., VCU M - Romena Bowie, Jr., VCU F - Taylor Morgan, Sr., GMU F - Timi Mulgrew, So., GMU F - Kyle Breitmeyer, Jr., Liberty G - Ryan Taylor, Sr., Radford

VaSID Coach of the Year - Dave Giffard, VCU VaSID Player of the Year - Jason Johnson, Jr., VCU VaSID Rookie of the Year - Bjarki Aðalsteinsson, Fr., JMU