Joseph and Smith Named To VASID All-State Squad

January 21, 2010
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Jan. 21, 2010

WILLIAMSBURG, VA-- Senior Nane Joseph (Cameroon) and freshman Yannick Smith (Hillsborough, NJ.) have been named to the 2009 Virginia Sports Information Directors (VASID) Men's Soccer All-State squad.

Joseph, is a second team NSCAA All-American and All-CAA selection. He was selected in the fourth round of last week's MLS Super Draft. Joseph led ODU in scoring with 15 total points on six goals and three assists. He led the CAA in game winning goals with four.

Yannick Smith was selected to the second team All-State squad. He was also a second team All-CAA selection as well as a CAA All-Rookie selection. Smith was second on the team in scoring with 13 total points on four goals and five assists.

Coming off a National Championship season, the University of Virginia swept the 2009 (VaSID) All-State honors on Thursday. Goalkeeper Diego Restrepo was named Player of the Year, while freshman Will Bates was named Rookie of the Year. Cavaliers head coach George Gelnovatch was named Coach of the Year after leading Virginia to its sixth title in program history.

Restrepo earned Player of the Year honors after a sensational season that saw the keeper only allow eight goals all season, posting a goals-against average of just 0.31. Restrepo also registered a school-record 16 shutouts and was named a First-Team All-American by College Soccer News. Bates was tabbed the Rookie of the Year after a breakout season that saw the freshman net 12 goals and tally an assist. Bates led the Cavaliers in game-winning goals with five and was named Soccer America's 2009 National Freshman of the Year.

In his 14th season at the helm of the Cavalier program, Gelnovatch was honored as the Coach of the Year after leading Virginia to a 19-3-3 record in 2009. The Cavaliers captured the ACC title before winning the national championship over Akron in penalty kicks. Along with being honored by VaSID, Gelnovatch was named the National Coach of the Year by Soccer America.

Joining Restrepo and Bates on the VaSID All-State First Team were a trio of unanimous selections forward inAndrew Hoxie from William and Mary, and midfielder Tony Tchani and defender Greg Monaco of Virginia. Rounding out the first team were forwards Darren Amoo of Liberty and Victor Freeman of George Mason, midfielders Nane Joseph of Old Dominion and Nathaniel Baako of William and Mary, and defenders Roger Bothe of William and Mary and Martin Vickerton of Longwood.

Earning VaSID Second-Team All-State honors were forwards Alan Koger of William and Mary, Harvey Headley of Longwood, Yannick Smith of Old Dominion, and Paul Wyatt of James Madison. Midfielders being named to the team were C.J. Sapong of James Madison, Ross LaBauex of Virginia, and Richard Edgar of George Mason, while defenders Michael Ward and Chris Mandell of Liberty, and Ayao Sossou of VMI also garnered second-team honors. Sean Kelley of George Mason also made the squad as goalkeeper.

The University of Virginia led all schools with five All-State selections, including four first-team honors, while the College of William and Mary had four total selections, including three first-team accolades.

All-state teams are selected by Virginia Sports Information Directors.

2009 VaSID Men's Soccer University Division Awards
Player of the Year - Diego Restrepo, GK (Virginia)
Rookie of the Year - Will Bates, MF (Virginia)
Coach of the Year - George Gelnovatch (Virginia)

VaSID First-Team All-State F - Andrew Hoxie, William and Mary F - Darren Amoo, Liberty F - Victor Freeman, George Mason MF - Tony Tchani, Virginia MF - Will Bates, Virgnia MF - Nane Joseph, Old Dominion MF - Nathaniel Baako D - Greg Monaco, Virginia D - Roger Bothe, William and Mary D - Martin Vickerton, Longwood GK - Diego Restrepo, Virginia

VaSID Second-Team All-State F - Alan Koger, William and Mary F - Harvey Headley, Longwood F - Yannick Smith, Old Dominion F - Paul Wyatt, James Madison MF - C.J. Sapong, James Madison MF - Ross LaBauex, Virginia MF - Richard Edgar, George Mason D - Michael Ward, Liberty D - Chris Mandell, Liberty D - Ayao Sossou, Virginia Military Institute GK - Sean Kelley, George Mason