Nane Joseph Named NSCAA All-American

December 11, 2009
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Dec. 11, 2009

NORFOLK, VA-Old Dominion University senior midfielder Nane Joseph (Cameroon) has been selected Second team All-American by the NSCAA. Yesterday, Joseph was named first team All-South Atlantic Region by the NSCAA. Joseph led the Monarchs in scoring with 15 points on six goals and three assists. He led ODU and the CAA with four game winning goals and was a perfect four-for-four on penalty kicks. Last month, he was also named first team All-CAA.

Joseph is the 11th overall and seventh Monarch to earn All-American honors since Alan Dawson became coach in 1997.

Previous ODU Men's Soccer All-Americans were: Edson Elcock (2006), Brian Cvilikas(2005); Kevon Harris (2004), Trevor McEachron and Attila Vendegh (2003), Jimmy Tanner (1999), Chris Haywood (1987), Tim Borer, and Mike Sweeney (1985), and Mike Valantassis (1978).

In addition to the three College Cup teams, three others had two players named to the team: Louisville, Monmouth and UCLA.

The NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-America selections will be recognized at the annual All-America Luncheon, held in Philadelphia, Pa., on Jan. 16 as part of the 2010 NSCAA Convention.

2009 NSCAA/Performance Subaru Men's NCAA Division I All-America Team

First Team

Pos.     Player                                     Year         School                                      Hometown

K           Jeffrey Attinella                        Jr.            South Florida                           Safety Harbor, Fla.

D           Bobby Warshaw                      Jr.            Stanford                                     Mechanicsburg, Pa.

D           Zach Loyd                                Sr.           North Carolina                         Verdigris, Okla.

D           Ike Opara*                                Jr.            Wake Forest                             Durham, N.C.

M           Kyle Nakazawa                       Sr.           UCLA                                         Palos Verdes Estates, Calif.

M           Anthony Ampaipitakwong*    Jr.            Akron                                         Carrollton, Texas

M           Corben Bone*                          Jr.            Wake Forest                             Plano, Texas

M           Tony Tchani                            So.           Virginia                                      Norfolk, Va.

F           Teal Bunbury                          So.           Akron                                         Prior Lake, Minn.

F           Colin Rolfe                               So.           Louisville                                   Canton, Mich.

F           Ryan Kinne                               Jr.            Monmouth                                 Naugatuck, Conn.

F           Andre Akpan**                         Sr.           Harvard                                     Grand Prairie, Texas


Second Team

K           Brian Perk                                 Sr.           UCLA                                         Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif.

D           Phil Edginton                           Sr.           Louisville                                   Auckland, New Zealand

D           Mark Blades*                           Sr.           Northwestern                            Lakewood, Ohio

D           Barry Rice                                 Sr.           Kentucky                                   Parma, Ohio

M           Dan Bostock                             Sr.           Monmouth                                 West Long Branch, N.J.

M           Conor O'Brien                          Sr.           Bucknell                                    Mt. Sinai, N.Y.

M           Two-Boys Gumede                Sr.           UAB                                            Durban, South Africa

M           Toni Stahl                                 Sr.           Connecticut                              Tuusula, Finland

F           Nane Joseph                           Sr.           Old Dominion                           Yaounde, Cameroon

F           Danny Mwanga                      So.           Oregon State                            Portland, Ore.

F           Darlington Nagbe                   So.           Akron                                         Lakewood, Ohio

F           Garrett Webb                           Sr.           Drake                                         Prairie Village, Kan.


Third Team

K           Zac MacMath                          So.           Maryland                                   St. Petersburg, Fla.

D           Ryan Peterman                       Sr.           San Diego                                 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.

D           Tim Ream                                 Sr.           Saint Louis                                St. Louis, Mo.

D           Nick Schuermann                   Sr.           Wofford                                      Fort Mill, S.C.

D           Indy Smith                                 Jr.            North Carolina-Wilmington   Black Mountain, N.C.

M           Irving Garcia                            Sr.           UC Irvine                                   San Luiz, Ariz.

M           Daniel Keat                               Jr.            Dartmouth                                 Hanover, N.H.

M           Michael Farfan                         Jr.            North Carolina                         Wildomar, Calif.

F           Austin Neil                               So.           Tulsa                                          Broken Arrow, Okla.

F           Zack Schilawski                      Sr.           Wake Forest                             Cary, N.C.

F           William Schuler                      So.           North Carolina                         Allentown, N.J.

F           Andrew Hoxie                          Sr.           William and Mary                    Newport News, Va.