Four Monarchs Earn CAA Soccer Honors

November 12, 2009
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Nov. 12, 2009

WILMINGTON, N.C. (November 12, 2009) - Nane Joseph (Cameroon), Yannick Smith (Hillsborough NJ.), Shane Howard (Co. Carlow, Ireland) and Evan Newton (Virginia Beach, Va.) earned 2009 All-CAA Men's Soccer honors.

Joseph, a senior midfielder was selected to the first team. Smith, a freshman forward is second team pick, and junior Evan Newton earned third team honors. Smith and fellow freshman Howard were named to the CAA All-Rookie squad.

Joseph led the Monarchs in scoring with 15 points on six goals, and three assists. His game-winner last weekend with

a minute left lifted the Monarchs to a 1-0 victory over George Mason and a spot in this weekend's CAA Tournament in Wilmington, NC. In all, Joseph had four game winning goals, which tie him for first in the CAA with C.J. Sapong (JMU), Darren Christie (Delaware), and Marco Mangione (Towson). He also ranks 10th in the CAA in goals per game at 0.38.

Yannick Smith was second on the team in scoring with 13 total points on four goals and five assists. Shane Howard had 12 total points on three goals and a team best six assists. Howard ranks third in the CAA in assists, and Smith tied for seventh in the same category.

Junior Goalkeeper Evan Newton led the CAA with nine shutouts. He had a 0.74 goals against average which ranks 30th nationally and a .797 saves percentage. Newton ranks third in the CAA in goals against average, and fourth in save percentage.

The Monarchs open the CAA Men's Soccer Tournament Friday night at 7:30 p.m. in Wilmington, NC against 21st ranked and top seed UNCW Seahawks.

William and Mary senior forward Andrew Hoxie, who led the Colonial Athletic Association in goals, assists and points this season, was selected as the 2009 CAA Men's Soccer Player of the Year in voting by the league's head coaches.

Other top individual awards went to Hofstra senior back Richard Martinez, who was chosen as the CAA Defender of the Year, Northeastern freshman forward Don Anding, who was named CAA Rookie of the Year, and UNCW head coach Aidan Heaney, who was selected as CAA Coach of the Year for the second straight season. The awards were presented Thursday night on the eve of the semifinals and finals of the CAA Men's Soccer Championship in Wilmington, N.C.

Hoxie was the top offensive performer in the CAA in 2009, tying for the league lead with 10 goals and topping the conference with 11 assists and 31 points. The senior, who ranks fourth in the nation in assists per game and 13th in points per game, has tallied at least one point in 11 of the Tribe's 18 contests. Hoxie ranks among the top 10 in W&M history in goals (35/t9th), assists (21/t10th) and points (91/7th). He is the first W&M player to earn CAA Player of the Year honors since 1997.

Martinez anchored a Hofstra defense that recorded shutouts in six of its 11 conference matches. The Pride's central back also contributed a goal in a 4-1 victory over Drexel in October. Martinez is a three-time All-CAA selection, earning first-team honors for the past two seasons after making the second team as a sophomore. He is the first Hofstra player to be named CAA Defender of the Year.

Anding led Northeastern with six goals and 14 points in his rookie campaign. After not tallying a point during non-conference play, the freshman forward contributed at least one point in seven of the Huskies' 11 CAA contests. Anding scored the game-winning goal for NU against Hofstra, Towson and Old Dominion. He is Northeastern's first CAA Rookie of the Year.

Heaney received CAA Coach of the Year honors for the second year in a row and the third time in his nine seasons at UNC Wilmington. He guided the Seahawks to a second straight CAA regular-season title with an 8-0-3 mark, becoming the first team since Towson in 2006 to go undefeated in league play. The Seahawks set school records for CAA wins (8) and points (27). UNCW, which is riding an 11-game unbeaten streak, currently sits at #22 in the NSCAA Top 25 poll.

Following a tight regular-season race, the All-CAA squad was very balanced with nine schools placing at least one player on the first team. Joining Anding on the first team from Northeastern was junior defender Santiago Bedoya (1g/3a), while Martinez and senior midfielder Rob Youhill (5g/6a) made the squad from Hofstra. William & Mary was represented by Hoxie and junior midfielder Nathaniel Baako (2g/5a).

Also named to the first team were Towson sophomore forward Liam Maloney (10g/4a), Delaware senior midfielder Darren Christie (9g/2a), Old Dominion senior midfielder Nane Joseph (6g/3a), James Madison junior midfielder CJ Sapong (10g/ 8a), UNC Wilmington junior defender Indy Smith (2g) and George Mason senior goalkeeper Sean Kelley (1.00 GAA, 82 sv).

2009 All-CAA Men's Soccer Team
(Selected by CAA Men's Soccer Coaches

First Team
Don Anding, NU Fr. F
Andrew Hoxie, W&M, Sr, F
Liam Maloney, Towson, So., F
Nathaniel Baako, W&M Jr, MF
Darren Christie, UD, Sr, MF
Nane Joseph, ODU, Sr, MF
CJ Sapong, JMU, Jr., MF
Rob Youhhill, Hofstra, Sr, MF
Santiago Bedoya, NU, JR, D
Richard Martinez, Hofstra, Sr,D
Indy Smith,UNCW, Jr. D
Sean Kelley, GMU, Sr, GK

Second Team

Victor Freeman, GMU, Jr, F Yannick Smith, ODU, Fr., F Alan Koger, W&M, So, F Fabio Assumpcao, Drexel, Sr, MF Richard Edgar, GMU, Sr, MF Marco Mangione, Towson,Jr, MF Lars Okland, NU Sr, MF David Acosta, UNCW, Sr, D Roger Bothe, W&M, Sr, D Jamal Neptune, Hofstra, Sr, D Brock Duckworth, UNCW, Jr, GK

Third Team Johannes grahn, Hofstra, Jr, F Ernesto Marquez, GMU, Jr, F Paul Wyatt, JMU, Fr., F Mike Kennedy, NU, So, MF Daniel Roberts, UNCW, Jr, MF Joel Senior, JMU, Sr, MF Price Thomas, W&M, Sr, MF Scott Horta, Towson, Jr, D Christopher Peacos, GSU, So, D Matt Sanford, NU, Jr, D Evan Newton, ODU, Jr, GK

2009 CAA Player of the Year: Andrew Hoxie, W&M 2009 CAA Defensive Player of the Year: Richard Martinez, Hofstra 2009 CAA Rookie of the Year: Don Anding, NU 2009 CAA Coach of the Year: Aiden Heaney, UNCW

All-Rookie Don Anding, NU, Fr. F Stephan Barea, Hofstra, Fr, MF Etienne Boulanger, UNCW, Fr., MF Andre Ciliotta, NU, Fr, MF Vincent Foermer, GSU, Fr, GK Shane Howard, ODU Fr, MF Carlos Picado, VCU, Fr, MF Ryan Reichmann, GMU , Fr, D Yannick Smith, ODU, Fr, F Caleb Thomas, W&M, Fr, MF Paul Wyatt, JMU, Fr., F