Seven Monarchs On CAA All-Conference Squad

November 08, 2012
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Nov. 8, 2012

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. - The 21st ranked ODU Soccer Monarchs have seven players selected to the CAA All-Conference team announced by the League. Tim Hopkinson (Nottingham, England) and Chris Harmon (Downingtown, PA.) were named to first team, Jordan LeBlanc (Haverford, PA.) and Alex DeJohn (Marlboro, NJ.) were second team selections and Victor Francoz (Fleurieu Sur Saone, France) and Gideon Asante (Sunyani, Ghana) were named third teamers. Monarch freshman midfielder Ryan Condotta (Keller, TX.) was named to the All-Rookie squad.

Two of the league's top scorers, Hopkinson led the Monarchs with 10 goals, five assists for 25 points followed by senior co-captain Chris Harmon who scored nine goals with five assists for 24 total points. Harmon scored five of ODU's last seven goals this season. Hopkinson was also All-CAA last year. Harmon led ODU and ranked third in the CAA with four gamewinning goals. Hopkinson and Asante had two gamewinners.

Anchoring the Monarchs defense was DeJohn and goalkeeper Victor Francoz. DeJohn scored a goal this season and Francoz recorded a 0.92 goals against average along with 59 saves, six shugtouts and a .797 saves percentage. He was also All-CAA last year.

LeBlanc was third on the Monarchs in scoring with five goals and three assists for 13 total points while Asante scored two goals and assisted on three others for seven points, and is a repeat All League selection. LeBlanc was a perfect 3-for-3 in penalty kicks this season. Condotta started all 16 games this season as a freshman and assisted on two goals.

The Monarchs, 11-3-2 await the NCAA selection show on Monday at 5:30 p.m. ODU has appeared in three straight and eight of the last 10 NCAA College Cups under head coach Alan Dawson, advancing to the second round all eight times and twice to the round of 16.

Northeastern senior forward Don Anding was selected as the 2012 CAA men's soccer Player of the Year in voting by the league's head coaches. Also receiving top men's soccer honors from the conference were Northeastern sophomore defender Simon Cox and Hofstra junior defender Shaun Foster, who were chosen as the CAA Co-Defensive Players of the Year. Hofstra freshman midfielder Joseph Holland was named the CAA Rookie of the Year. Northeastern's Brian Ainscough and Drexel's Doug Hess were voted as the CAA Co-Coaches of the Year.

Anding is the first Northeastern player to receive CAA Player of the Year accolades. The senior led the conference with 28 points and ranked second in the league in goals (11), assists (6) and game-winning goals (5). He contributed either a goal or an assist in 12 of the Huskies' 17 contests, including his first career hat trick with three goals in a 5-2 victory over Holy Cross on Sept. 25. Anding, who was the CAA Rookie of the Year in 2009, is the first NU player since 2001 to score 10 or more goals in a season and the first since 2007 to record more than 20 points in a season. He currently ranks third in career goals (22) at NU and is tied for fifth in career points (55).

Ainscough, who earned CAA Coach of the Year honors for the first time, guided Northeastern to an 11-2-4 overall record and a second-place finish in CAA with a 6-1-3 mark. The Huskies received the first national ranking in program history this season and are currently ranked #27 by College Soccer News. NU had a 12-match unbeaten streak (8-0-4) from Sept. 15 to Oct. 27 and also was unbeaten at home (7-0-1) for the second year in a row. 2012 All-CAA Men's Soccer Team (Selected by CAA Men's Soccer Coaches) First Team Player, School Cl. Pos. Don Anding, Northeastern Sr. F Olakunle Banjo, Towson% Jr. F Tim Hopkinson, Old Dominion# Jr. F Taylor Morgan, George Mason% Sr. F Jamie Dell, UNCW So. MF Chris Harmon, Old Dominion Sr. MF Nathan Page, Drexel Jr. MF Paul Wyatt, James Madison* Sr. MF Simon Cox, Northeastern So. D Shaun Foster, Hofstra* Jr. D Bjarki Adalsteinsson, JMU Fr. D Oliver Blum, Northeastern Sr. GK

Second Team Player, School Cl. Pos. Chris Griebsch, Hofstra% Jr. F Maid Memic, Hofstra So. F Timi Mulgrew, George Mason So. F Joseph Holland, Hofstra Fr. MF Jordan LeBlanc, Old Dominion Sr. MF Dante Marini, Northeastern* Jr. MF Ken Tribbett, Drexel# Jr. MF Tal Bublil, Drexel Jr. D Alex DeJohn, Old Dominion Sr. D Ambry Moss, Northeastern So. D Tobias Muller, Delaware So. D Tim Washam, Drexel Sr. GK

Third Team Player, School Cl. Pos. Gideon Asante, Old Dominion* Jr. F Fabio Machado, Drexel So. F William Mellors-Blair, GSU Fr. F Jonathan Eckford, Northeastern Jr. MF Alex Herrera, George Mason Jr. MF Jamal Keene, Georgia State% Jr. MF Christian McLaughlin, JMU% Sr. MF Chris Locandro, Georgia State* Jr. D Hugh Roberts, George Mason Jr. D Will Smith, William & Mary# Jr. D Victor Francoz, Old Dominion# Sr. GK

2012 CAA Player of the Year: Don Anding, Northeastern 2012 CAA Co-Defensive Players of the Year:Simon Cox, NU and Shaun Foster,HU 2012 CAA Rookie of the Year: Joseph Holland, Hofstra 2012 CAA Co-Coaches of the Year:Brian Ainscough, NU and Doug Hess, Drexel * - All-CAA First Team in 2011 # - All-CAA Second Team in 2011 % - All-CAA Third Team in 2011

2012 CAA Men's Soccer All-Rookie Team Player, School Cl. Pos. Bjarki Adalsteinsson, JMU Fr. D Colin Bonner, UNCW Fr. F Terence Carter, Northeastern Fr. F Ryan Condotta, Old Dominion Fr. MF Donovan Fayd'Herbe de Maudave, NU So. F Josh Grant, James Madison So. F Ryan Harmouche, George Mason Fr. F/MF Joseph Holland, Hofstra Fr. MF William Mellors-Blair, GSU Fr. F Felix Petermann, Towson Fr. GK