Ticha Penicheiro
Ticha Penicheiro
ODU Sports

Penicheiro To Be Inducted Into The Virginia Sports Hall Saturday

April 25, 2014
By ODU Athletics


PORTSMOUTH, VA – Two-time Kodak All-American and Wade Trophy recipient Ticha Penicheiro (ODU '98) will be one of seven inductees into the 43rd annual Virginia Sports Hall of Fame on April 26th. She played 15 years in the WNBA and was named to four All-Star teams. The 43rd Annual Induction Banquet will take place on Saturday, April 26, 2014 at the Renaissance Portsmouth Hotel & Waterfront Conference Center in Portsmouth, VA as the headline event of Hall of Fame weekend. Saturday’s event begins at 5:30 p.m. $75.00 per person.

Ticha Penicheiro was a standout women’s basketball player at Old Dominion University from 1994-1998 and led the Lady Monarchs to the NCAA Championship game in 1997. At Old Dominion, Penicheiro was a two-time Kodak All-American, four-time All-CAA honoree, and was named the CAA’s Player of the Year twice. In 1998, Penicheiro was the Wade Trophy recipient, awarded annually to the best women's basketball player in NCAA Division I competition. After her prestigious college career, Penicheiro was the number two overall pick by the Sacramento Monarchs in the 1998 WNBA draft. In her 15-year career in the WNBA, Penicheiro was a four time WNBA All-Star, captured the WNBA championship in 2005, and is the all-time record holder in assists. Penicheiro was an honoree of the WNBA’s All-Decade Team in 2006.

The Class of 2014 also features:

· Rondé Barber, former University of Virginia standout who enjoyed a 16-year career in the NFL with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and five-time Pro Bowl selection;

· Sean Casey, a graduate of the University of Richmond who had a 12-year career in Major League Baseball, was a three-time All-Star, and posted a career batting average of .302;

· LaTasha Colander Clark, a native of Portsmouth, an All-American at the University of North Carolina and gold medalist in the 4x400 relay in the 2000 Summer Olympics;

· Marty Miller, former Norfolk State coach who is the winningest baseball coach in Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association history and 15-time CIAA Coach of the Year;

· Ticha Penicheiro, two-time Kodak All-American and Wade Trophy recipient at Old Dominion University; she played 15 years in the WNBA and was named to four All-Star teams;

· David Teel, a decorated sports writer for the Daily Press and has been honored more than 50 times by the Associated Press Sports Editors and other organizations;

· Lou Wacker, head football coach for 23 seasons for the Emory & Henry Wasps where he won nearly 70-percent of his games and was named ODAC Coach of the Year five times.

MORE IN Women's Basketball


Liberty Tax
Anne Donovan Tribute Video
Women's Basketball: C-USA Tourney 1st Round Recap
Women's Basketball: C-USA Tourney 1st Round Presser