ODU Sports

Rudisill & Leigh Just Three Back At VSGA Super Senior Tournament

September 05, 2013
By ODU Athletics

PORTSMOUTH, VA- The first Virginia State Golf Association Super Senior Four-Ball Championship concluded its initial round on Wednesday with the tandem of   ODU Hall of Fame golfer J.P. Leigh and head coach Murray Rudisill in seventh place at the Elizabeth Manor Golf and Country Club just three strokes behind the leaders. The event is open to golfers ages 65 and older.

Richmond-area golfers Tom Rash and Jim Hudson of Midlothian as well as northern Virginians Roger Pitkin (Springfield)-Robert Murphy II (Reston) each shot 5-under 65 and headline a crowded leader board entering Thursday’s final round.


Three other tandems posted 2-under 68 and are three back—south Hampton Roads golfers Murray Rudisill (Portsmouth)-J.P. Leigh (Suffolk), David King (Potomac Falls)-Harry Cain (Williamsburg) and central Virginians John Mann (Richmond)-Tony Aguiar (Glen Allen). In the four-ball format, each player plays his ball into the hole, but only the best score is counted toward the team aggregate.

Scores following the first round of the 1st VSGA Super Senior Four-Ball Championship at Elizabeth Manor Golf and Country Club (5,910 yards, par 35-35—70) on Wednesday, Sept. 4.

Jim Hudson (Midlothian)-Tom Rash (Midlothian), 31-34—65
Roger Pitkin (Springfield)-Robert Murphy II (Reston), 32-33—65
Peter Jacobi (Arlington)-Tom Flory (Madison), 31-35—66
Tom Grady (Marshall)-John Casstevens (Glen Allen), 34-32—66
James Walker (Virginia Beach)-Richard Wight (Virginia Beach), 33-34—67
Lou Moelchert (Richmond)-Tom Hackett (Powhatan), 33-34—67
Murray Rudisill (Portsmouth)-J.P. Leigh (Suffolk), 34-34—68
David King (Potomac Falls)-Harry Cain (Williamsburg), 36-32—68
John Mann (Richmond)-Tony Aguiar (Glen Allen), 33-35—68
Jim Groves (Chesapeake)-Carlisle Wroton (Norfolk), 34-35—69
David Stewart (McLean)-Worth Banner (Virginia Beach), 32-37—69
Stan Fischer (Richmond)-Steve Isaacs (Richmond), 35-34—69


MORE IN Men's Golf


Antonio Cruz-Conde Feature Video (2016-17)
Calvin Greschner Feature Video (2016-17)
Michael Bakker Feature Video (2016-17)