Rudisill Named Co-Golf Coach Of The Year In Virginia

July 07, 2000
By ODU Athletics

Murray Rudisill

NORFOLK, VA. (July 7) - James Madison head coach Paul Gooden and Old Dominion's head coach Murray Rudisill were named Co-Coach of the Year by the Virginia Division I Golf Coaches Association. The first and second team All-State squad was also announced. Monarch golfers Michael Hospodar (Ontario, Canada) and Steve Sokol (Oxford, CT.) were All State selections.

Murray Rudisill just completed his 25th season as the Monarchs head golf coach. Old Dominion finished eighth or better in ten of 12 events, and ranked as high as 49th nationally during the year. The Monarchs placed third in the CAA Championships, and he was named the CAA Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

The first team All-State squad includes James Driscoll (Brookline, Mass.) from Virginia, Reg Millage (Ontario, Canada ) from Virginia Commonwealth, Ken Macdonald (Glen Rock, NJ.) from Richmond, Michael Hospodar (Ontario, Canada) from Old Dominion and Yong Joo (Chantily, Va.) from Liberty.

Hospodar earned first team All-CAA honors and tied for fourth with Richmond's Macdonald at the CAA Championships. He had four top ten finishes and was the Monarchs top golfer in seven of 12 events this season. His stroke average is 73.4.

The second team All-State squad consists of Eric Knudsen (Ontario, Canada) of VCU; Cameron Yancey (Blackstone, Va) from Virginia; Steve Sokol (Oxford, CT.); Scott Polen (Greenville, SC.) from James Madison; and Phillip Bowers Harrisonburg, Va.) from Radford. Sokol completed the season with a 73.8 stroke average. He was named second team All-CAA and placed eighth at the Conference Championships.

1st Team
James Driscoll (Virginia)
Reg Millage (VCU)
Michael Hospodar (ODU)
Ken Macdonald (Richmond)
Young Joo(Liberty)

2nd Team
Eric Knudsen (VCU)
Cameron Yancey (Virginia)
Steve Sokol (ODU)
Scott Polen (JMU)
Phillip Bowers (Radford)

Coach of the Year:
Paul Gooden (JMU) and Murray Rudisill (ODU)

MORE IN Men's Golf


Antonio Cruz-Conde Feature Video (2016-17)
Calvin Greschner Feature Video (2016-17)
Michael Bakker Feature Video (2016-17)