ODU Sports

Carol Hudson Honored With VaSID Distinguished Service Award

June 05, 2014
By ODU Athletics

ASHLAND, Va. – Old Dominion University Athletic Communications Director Carol Hudson was named the 2014 VaSID (Virginia Sports Information Directors) Distinguished Service Award Winner, the organization announced at their annual meeting on Thursday.

The award is given to individuals who have promoted college athletics and the concept of the student-athlete. The honor is bestowed only to professionals who have been a part of the athletic community as a coach, administrator or member of the media for a minimum of 20 years.  It is not given out annually.

Hudson has been the sports information director at Old Dominion since 1984 and has been in the profession for over 30 years, working at Hampton for four years and a graduate assistant at ODU prior to that. 

An inductee into the CoSIDA Hall of Fame in 2010, Hudson played a key role in the start-up of VaSID, and has twice served as president of the organization. Carol has coordinated the annual Virginia Division I institution all sport competition for the past 26 years, which recognizes the school with the highest win-loss percentage. Thanks to his diligence, the all-sport winner is now recognized and presented an award from the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.

In 2013, the media room at the Ted Constant Center was named after Hudson in honor of his service at Old Dominion.

Hudson becomes the third member of Old Dominion to win the award, joining Paul Webb in 1989 and Dr. Jim Jarrett in 2004.

Previous Distinguished Service Award winners:

Bob McLelland, Roanoke Times
Marshall Johnson, Associated Press

Bill Snellenberger, Lynchburg College
Bob Moorman, Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association
Paul Webb, Old Dominion University
Bill Deekens, Richmond News Leader

Bill Brill, Roanoke Times
Charles Christian, Norfolk State University
Dallas Shirley, Southern Conference

Weenie Miller, Hampden-Sydney College
Dr. Leotus Morrison, James Madison University

Millie West, College of William & Mary
Dean Ehlers, James Madison University
Vic Fulp, Richmond Times-Dispatch

Wayne Block, Christopher Newport University

Jack Williams, Virginia Tech

Doyle Smith, University of Virginia

Kevin Keys, Liberty University & West Virginia University
Col. Earl "Bud" Skeens, Ferrum College

Dr. Jim Jarrett, Old Dominion University

Rich Murray, University of Virginia
Dave Smith, Virginia Tech

MORE IN Athletics Department


Top Plays of the Year 2018
Lip Dub // Don't Stop Believing
1K/5K Race Highlights