Tiffany Snow and Beth Anders Take Top Honors from VaSID

December 17, 2002
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Dec. 17, 2002

NORFOLK, VA -- ODU coach Beth Anders and senior midfielder Tiffany Snow have earned Coach of the Year and Player of the Year honors, respectively, from the Virginia Sports Information Directors' Association, as announced by that organization today.

Snow, the 2002 Honda Award recipient, is the 2002 CAA Player of the Year and a repeat First Team Dita/NFHCA All-American. The CAA Tournament MVP, Snow tied for second in the nation and tied for first in the CAA in points (75). She also ranked second in the nation and first in the CAA in goals (30) and tied for 11th in the country and ranked fourth in the CAA in assists (15). Snow was the Lady Monarchs' leading scorer in six games and scored four game winning goals. She had five hat tricks on the season and was also an aggressive defender leading the team with three defensive saves and helped the team to eight shutouts.

Anders, the winningest coach in NCAA field hockey history with 430 victories, again earned CAA Coach of the Year honors as she guided the Lady Monarchs to the #1 ranking in the country and their seventh consecutive CAA Championship. Under Anders, the Lady Monarchs have not dropped a conference match since the title game of 1995.

Snow joins ODU teammates Melissa Leonetti, Lotte Bant, Tara Herrmann and Angie Loy on the VaSID squad. JMU placed three players on the team, Ryan Shean, Elize van Ballegooie, and Veerle Goudswaard. William & Mary and Richmond both placed two players on the team. Due to a tie in voting there were 12 athletes named to the squad.

2002 VaSID Field Hockey Team:

Lotte Bant, ODU
Lydia Decembrino, Richmond
Ann Ekberg, William & Mary
Veerle Goudswaard, JMU
Tara Herrmann, ODU
Melissa Leonetti, ODU
Angie Loy, ODU
Claire Miller, William & Mary
Jill Murphy, Richmond
Ryan Shean, JMU
Tiffany Snow, ODU
Elize van Ballegooie, JMU

Player of the Year: Tiffany Snow, ODU