Tiffany Snow Named Honda Award Winner

December 09, 2002
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

Dec. 9, 2002

NORFOLK, VA -- Old Dominion's Tiffany Snow (Escondido, CA) was named field hockey's Honda Award winner it was announced on Monday. The award is award annually given to the top collegiate player in the nation.

Snow becomes a candidate for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the Honda-Broderick Cup that is awarded annually to the nation's most outstanding collegiate woman athlete of the year.

A senior midfielder, Snow was tied for second in the nation in points (75), second in the country in goals scored (30), and 11th in the nation in assists (15). Defensively she led the Lady Monarchs to six shutouts and recorded a team-best three defensive saves. Snow led Old Dominion in scoring on six occasions, tallied four game-winning goals, and recorded a hat trick fives times.

Snow finished her career ranked sixth on the Old Dominion All-Time Goals Leaders list with 71 career tallies and also ranks sixth on the Old Dominion all-time Points Leaders list with 182 points over her four years in a Lady Monarch uniform.

The Honda Award also adds to an already impressive list of honors and awards bestowed upon Snow this season. She earned her second First Team Dita/NFHCA All-America and First Team All-South Region honors last month. Snow was also named the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) Player of the Year and CAA Tournament MVP after guiding the Lady Monarchs to their seventh straight and 11th overall conference title. Snow also earned NCAA All-Tournament honors after helping the Lady Monarchs to their 22nd straight NCAA Tournament berth and their 15th appearance in the "Final Four."

The 2002 version of the Lady Monarch field hockey team finished the year with a 19-4 overall record and a perfect 7-0 mark in CAA play. Old Dominion concluded the year with a number one ranking in the STX/NFHCA Coaches' Poll and reached the semifinals of the NCAA Tournament.

Snow becomes the sixth Lady Monarch to be honored with the Honda Award. She joins former Old Dominion award winners Yolanda Hightower ('82), Christy Morgan ('84), Kelli James ('92), Mimi Smith ('98), and Marina DiGiacomo ('00). The Lady Monarchs hold the distinction of having produced the most Honda Award winners in the sport of field hockey.