Twelve Lady Monarchs Named To The NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad

March 03, 2003
By ODU Athletics

March 3, 2003

NORFOLK, VA -- Twelve members of the Old Dominion Final Four field hockey squad were named Academic All-Americans it was announced today by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA).

Janelle Engle (Mt. Joy, PA), Lynn Farquhar (Alexandria, VA), Marybeth Freeman (Holland, PA), Cora Gerardi (Frederica, DE), Mary Cate Gordon (Oreland, PA), Tara Herrmann (Perkasie, PA), Melissa Leonetti (Erdenheim, PA), Angie Loy (Loysville, PA), Becky Loy (Loysville, PA), Jenna McLane (Stowe, VT), Katie Moyer (Va. Beach, VA), and Tina Walker (Suffolk, VA) were all named to the squad for their contributions on the field while maintaining at least a 3.2 cumulative grade point average or higher.

The twelve members named to the national academic squad are the most in Old Dominion history. The Lady Monarchs had nine members representing the squad last season.

Freeman earned her fourth Academic All-American honor, the first Lady Monarch four-time honoree. Angie and Becky Loy along with Herrmann both were named to the squad for the third time in their careers. Farquhar, Leonetti, and Walker each earned their second recognition.

The Old Dominion field hockey team finished the 2002 season 21-4 capturing their 11th CAA title and advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the 22nd consecutive year. The Lady Monarchs reached the semi-finals of the NCAA Tournament marking their 15th appearance in the "Final Four."

MORE IN Field Hockey

Big East

Aaron Rittgers on How Success in the Weight Room Leads to Success on the Field
Coach Griffiths Previews Field Hockey's Upcoming Weekend Games
Field Hockey: W&M Recap