ODU Athletics

ODU Adds Five into Sports Hall of Fame

September 20, 2017
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. – Old Dominion University athletics will induct five former student-athletes into the ODU Athletics Hall of Fame on Saturday, Nov. 4 at 9 a.m. in the Big Blue Room of the Ted Constant Center. Former field hockey player Janelle (Engle) Benner, wrestler Jeff Rusak, Medina Dixon of women’s basketball, Brad Funk of sailing and diver Heather Drallos will be honored on Saturday morning.

Tickets for the ODU Sports Hall of Fame induction breakfast are $25 and can be reserved by calling Jackie Barrow at 757-683-3359 or by email at JBarrow@odu.edu.

(Engle) Benner was a First-Team National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) All-American in 2005, as well as earing CAA Player of the Year, ODU Scholar-Athlete of the Year and was a CoSIDA Academic All-American. In 2005, she scored 20 goals and added 10 assists. She won the Norfolk Sports Club Tom Scott Award, given to the top senior athlete at ODU. She graduated with a 4.00 GPA in music education. She was the first violinist in the Deihn String Quartet and concertmaster of the ODU Symphony.

Rusak was a four-time NCAA qualifier, capturing a pair of CAA Championships. He was named the CAA Rookie of the Year in 1999 and the CAA Wrestler of the Year in 2002. As a senior in 2002, he entered the NCAA Tournament as the No. 5 seed and finished the season with a 35-2 record. Rusak ranks fourth in school history with 135 career wins. He graduated in 2002 with a degree in computer science.

Dixon had her ODU No. 13 retired in 2011. She was a First-Team Kodak All-American in 1995, Sun Belt Player of the Year and Finalist for the Naismith Player of the Year Award. She helped lead ODU to a Final Four appearance in 1983 and an NCAA National Championship in 1985. Dixon finished her career with 1,968 points and 979 rebounds, both ranking in the top-10 in ODU history. She won a bronze medal in 1992 playing for Team USA in the Olympics. She was a first-team Kodak All-American in 1985 and a finalist for the Naismith National Player of the Year award.

Funk was a time-two Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) All-American skipper and the ODU Alumni Association Male Athlete of the Year in 2002. He placed second at the fall 2001 ICSA Singlehanded National Championships. He led ODU to a fourth place spot in the co-ed Dinghy National Championships and a sixth place at the ICSA Team Race National Championships. He graduated in 2003 with a degree in physical education.

Drallos was a two-time CAA Female Diver of the Year and won both the one and three-meter titles in 1994, while winning the one-meter title in 1995. She qualified for the NCAA Zones three-straight years and was a two-time team MVP. She graduated with a degree in education.

MORE IN Athletics Department


Chamique Holdsclaw Speech Notes
Anne Donovan's Celebration of Life Ceremony
Top Plays of the Year 2018