ODU Athletics

End of the Year Honors Announced at Golden Monarch Awards Banquet

April 23, 2018
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. – Chad Hess (Men’s Golf) and Danielle Grega (Field Hockey) were the inaugural winners of the John R. Broderick Award given to Old Dominion’s best all-around athlete, while Jackie Stroud (Women’s Soccer) and Mertcan Akar (Men’s Soccer) were named the Old Dominion University Alumni Association Athletes of the Year. Carter Little of Sailing and Cydney Tutchton of lacrosse were named the 2018 recipients of the Jack Wilkins/James Howard Scholar Athletes of the Year at the annual Old Dominion University Athletic honors banquet Monday night.

Also handed out on Monday night was the inaugural Championship Effort Award, given to Shane Jones (Wrestling) and Kealsie Robles (Field Hockey), the Newcomer of the Year was awarded to Michael McGee (Wrestling) and Victoria Morris (Women’s Basketball) and the Monarch Cup Winner for community service was given to field hockey.

The Broderick award is named in honor of ODU President, John R. Broderick. Broderick is the eighth president of Old Dominion, who has been at the university 25 years, and spent 10 years in his current role. He has served on several NCAA committees and chaired the C-USA board for two years and is a longtime supporter of student-athletes. 

Hess holds a season stroke average of 74.9, which leads all regulars on the team. He notched a pair of top-five finishes, including a runner-up performance at the ODU/OBX Intercollegiate and a fourth-place finish at the Kinsgmill Intercollegiate. He has been the top-placing Monarch in four of the eight tournaments played. Hess holds a 3.82 GPA in elementary education.

Grega was named to the NFHCA All-South Region First Team and repeated as an All-Big East First Team selection, one of just six unanimous selections on the All-Big East First Team and was also named to the Big East All-Tournament Team. She finished second on the team in scoring with 20 points on seven goals and six assists. She is also a member of the U.S. National Development Team and former member of the U-21 National Team. Grega has a 3.73 GPA in biology.

Akar raked in the awards this season, earning C-USA Golden Glove Winner (Best GK), First Team All-C-USA, C-USA Tournament Defensive MVP, First Team All-Southeast Region and VaSID All-State First Team. At the end of the 2017 season, Akar ranked 19th in the country for total saves with 82. The goalkeeper also played over 1900 minutes in goal, which is 14th in the country for most minutes played in goal. Akar had 10 shutouts and tallied a .752 save percentage. The German native was named C-USA Defensive Player of the Week three times in the fall.

Stroud was named the Conference USA Defender of the Year and garnered First Team All-League honors, while also being named to the C-USA All Academic Team. She also earned a spot on the United Soccer Coaches All-South Region First Team and the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) All-State First Team. Stroud tied for the team’s leading goal scorer with five and led the squad in game-winners with three. She was second on squad for points (13), as a defender. Stroud also dished out three assists (fourth on team). She played every minute of all 17 matches she played in this season. The team captain was instrumental in ODU allowing just one goal or less in 13 of 18 games.

The Jack Wilkins/James Howard Scholar Athletes of the Year are presented to the male and female senior athletes with the highest cumulative grade point averages. Both Howard and Wilkins were instrumental in the formation of the ODU Intercollegiate Foundation, now the Old Dominion Athletic Foundation.

Little is a four-year member of the Sailing team and holds a 4.0 GPA in civil engineering technology. He earned Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll and the C-USA Academic Medal.

Tutchton also holds a 4.0 cumulative grade-point average and will graduate this spring with a degree in biology. A four-year member of the women’s lacrosse team, she earned Conference USA Commissioner’s Honor Roll accolades as well as the C-USA Academic Medal. She is third on the lacrosse squad with 22 goals and 27 points so far this season.

2017-18 Team MVP’s
Baseball – After the Season
Men’s Basketball – Ahmad Caver
Women’s Basketball – Odegua Oigbokie
Field Hockey – Danielle Grega
Football – Isaiah Harper
Men’s Golf – Chad Hess
Women’s Golf – Maggie Simmermacher/Katerina Vlasinova
Lacrosse – Kerri Caruso
Coed Sailing – Jeremy Herrin
Women’s Sailing – Olivia Windemuller
Men’s Soccer – Mertcan Akar
Women’s Soccer – Jackie Stroud
Men’s Swimming – Anton Mikaelsson
Women’s Swimming – Sofie Sjoberg
Men’s Tennis – Aziz Kijametovic
Women’s Tennis – Adriana Rajkovic 
Women’s Rowing – After the Season
Wrestling – Michael McGee

Female: Cydney Tutchton – Lacrosse
Male: Carter Little – Sailing

Female: Jackie Stroud – Women’s Soccer
Male: Mertcan Akar – Men’s Soccer

CHAMPIONSHIP EFFORT (great teammate, character, representative of ODU)
Female: Kealsie Robles – Field Hockey
Male: Shane Jones - Wrestling

Female: Victoria Morris – Women’s Basketball
Male: Michael McGee – Wrestling 

Female: Danielle Grega – Field Hockey
Male: Chad Hess – Men’s Golf 

Field Hockey 

Ragean Hill - Associate Athletic Director - Student-Athlete Academic Services/SWA

MORE IN Athletics Department


Chamique Holdsclaw Speech Notes
Anne Donovan's Celebration of Life Ceremony
Top Plays of the Year 2018