ODU Athletics

Men's Basketball Announces C-USA Schedule

July 13, 2016
By ODU Athletics

IRVING, Texas -- The Conference USA portion of the Old Dominion men's basketball 2016-17 schedule has been released, as announced by head coach Jeff Jones and the Conference USA office on Wednesday.

The 18-game slate, which features nine home and nine away contests, begins on New Year's Eve as the Monarchs battle Rice at home at the Ted Constant Center. 

Jones' squad will battle a total of five Conference USA opponents twice over the course of conference play, as the Monarchs have both home and away games against Rice, North Texas, Marshall, WKU and Charlotte.

The remainder of the conference slate features home games against Southern Miss, LA Tech, FIU and Florida Atlantic, and road matchups at reigning conference champ Middle Tennessee, reigning regular season champ UAB, UTEP and UTSA. 

UAB and the city of Birmingham will also serve as the host for the Conference USA Tournament for the third straight season. The 2017 championship will be held March 8-11. 

Jones' squad will look to improve on a 2015-16 season that saw the team advance to the C-USA title game, before falling to champ Middle Tennessee. The Monarchs graduated four seniors from last year's team, but return four of its top seven leading scorers.

2016-17 Old Dominion Men's Basketball Conference USA Schedule

DATE OPPONENT LOCATION
Saturday, Dec. 31 Rice Norfolk, Va.
Monday, Jan. 2 North Texas Norfolk, Va.
Thursday, Jan. 5 at Marshall Huntington, W.V.
Saturday, Jan. 7 at WKU Bowling Green, Ky.
Thursday, Jan. 12 Southern Miss  Norfolk, Va.
Saturday, Jan. 14  LA Tech  Norfolk, Va.
Saturday, Jan. 21 at Charlotte  Charlotte, N.C.
Thursday, Jan. 26  at Rice  Houston, Texas
Saturday, Jan. 28  at North Texas  Denton, Texas
Thursday, Feb. 2  FIU  Norfolk, Va.
Saturday, Feb. 4  Florida Atlantic  Norfolk, Va.
Thursday, Feb. 9  at Middle Tennessee  Murfreesboro, Tenn.
Saturday, Feb. 11  at UAB  Birmingham, Ala.
Saturday, Feb. 18 Charlotte Norfolk, Va.
Thursday, Feb. 23 Marshall  Norfolk, Va.
Saturday, Feb. 25  WKU  Norfolk, Va.
Thursday, Mar. 2  at UTEP  El Paso, Texas
Saturday, Mar. 4 at UTSA  San Antonio, Texas

MORE IN Men's Basketball

MONARCH MEDIA
CUSA.tv

Liberty Tax
play
Men's Basketball: ODU at Syracuse Highlights
play
Men's Basketball ODU vs Fairfield Recap
play
Men's Basketball ODU vs Fairfield